BACKGROUND

Quali-

fications​
 

  • The equivalent of a ​BA in English and Spanish languages and literature and the equivalent of an MA in English and American literature, Geneva University, Switzerland

  • Diplôme d’études françaises, Geneva University, Switzerland

  • TEFL diploma (Teaching English as a Foreign Language)

  • Teaching certificate for higher education from HES, Switzerland

  • CEOPs International Child Protection certificate

  • 25 years of experience teaching English to non-Anglophones

      

Experience

 

  • 4 years teaching pull-out ESL in the primary school of  Lanna International School, Chiang Mai, Thailand
  • 5 years as an English language lecturer in the University of Applied Arts, Geneva, Switzerland
  • 3 years as an English language lecturer in the University of Applied Sciences, Geneva, Switzerland
  • 14 years supply teaching in secondary schools and adult colleges, and teaching in evening classes, banks and companies
  • 4 years tutoring under-graduate English literature students
  • 10 years teaching 5-12 year-olds for Arnie's Club, a children's language school in Geneva, Switzerland
  • 1 year running a playgroup in English for non-Anglophone 2-5 year-olds.
 
My own experience with learning languages (7 to date) has been my greatest asset in my teaching career because I know what it is like to learn a language. I speak French and Spanish fluently (though I'm currently suffering brain freeze when I try to speak Spanish), could speak basic Thai and Indonesian when living in Thailand and Indonesia, and am currently learning Dutch. I also studied Latin at university.

KvK: 58522360

BSN: 6090.80.490

CRKBO registered

Experienced in teaching:

Academic English

Business English

Conversational English

Presentation English

English for children

Languages:

English:        mother tongue

French:         fluent

Spanish:       fluent (but rusty)

Dutch:           B2 (work in progress)

Thai:              basic (very rusty)

Indonesian:  basic (very rusty)

Latin:             university level

Teaching
 style

I love teaching and seeing my students progress quickly, and above all enjoy having a good laugh while we're at it!

 

I tailor my lessons to the student's needs, paying particular attention to any difficulties they may encounter with  pronunciation, intonation, spelling, syntax, grammar, vocabulary acquisition, and the second degree nuances of the language.
 

I am all for engaging the senses and the different forms of intelligence by making use of games, songs, pop music, videos, pictures, picture-drawing, literature, story-writing, figures of language, jokes, riddles, sketches, plays, role-play, movement, city walks, museum visits, oral presentations, projects, translation, internet-searches, quizzes, treasure hunts, maps, etc.

+31 (0) 6-86402238
 

Nassaustraat 8 rood

2011PJ Haarlem

Noord Holland

The Netherlands

 

© 2013-2019 by Deborah Knight